A Year of Classics

Need more classics in your life? Me too!

I’ve enjoyed mixing classics into my reading agenda in the past, but when I end up too busy to read as many books as I’d planned, the classics always seem to be the first to be nudged farther down the list. There are so, so many books I want to read this coming year, but in order to prevent the classics on my list from falling by the wayside, I’ve compiled a month-by-month plan of twelve classics to keep me motivated in 2017.

If you’re interested in picking up a few more classics this year, I encourage you to join me in my Year of Classics by following along, or creating your own personalized list. Although I likely won’t be posting full-length reviews for classics, I do include a paragraph of my thoughts on every book I read in my monthly wrap-ups if you want to keep track of my progress with these classics and share your own. I haven’t read any of these books yet, so no spoilers please, but I’d love to see in the comments below if you’ve read or highly recommend any of these stories, and what classics you’re reading!

January: Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton

February: Persuasion by Jane Austen

March: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

April: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

May: (To Kill a Mockingbird and) Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

June: Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

July: Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

August: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

September: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

October: Dracula by Bram Stoker

November: The Iliad by Homer

December: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

classics

These are twelve of the books I plan to read in 2017. Have you read any of these? What do you want to read more of in the new year?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant