February TBR

It’s practically impossible to keep my monthly TBRs under control because there are so many books I want to read and I want to read them all right now. But in the interest of avoiding burning out in a major book slump, I’ve made some tough cuts and formed this list. My January reading went so well (I read a record 14 books!); I finished every book on my TBR and felt so good about being on top of my plan that I wanted another realistic plan to stay on top of for February. So here’s what I want to read for sure this month:

  1. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare. I am rereading/reading for the first time all of Cassandra Clare’s books this year, and I had such a good time with the first two that this third book is high on my February list. If I end up having extra reading time this month, I’ll probably pick up the next Shadowhunter book as well, but we’ll see. I was planning to read this one first in February, but then I ordered my own copy on a sale so  suppose I’d rather wait for its arrival and read my own copy. It bothers me to have books on my shelf that I’ve read, but not in my own copy.
  2. Persuasion by Jane Austen. I’ve decided to make 2017 a year of classics (although I’m hoping I’ll keep up the trend for more than one year), and this is my scheduled classic of the month. I started the year easy with a very short book in January, and this month I’m easing farther in by picking up a slightly longer novel I’ve that started before but never finished. I will be starting over when I pick it up this month, but this time I’ll read all the way through. I don’t know anything about the storyline, but an Austen novel seemed like a solid February classic.11111111
  3. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I wanted to read this book in January, but the wait list at my library was longer than I anticipated, and I already had it on hold there before I started seeing sale copies in stores that I might have been tempted to grab. I finally have a copy available and will be reading it this month. I’ve heard great things about this author, but this is my first time reading one of her books so I don’t know exactly what to expect. I have high hopes!
  4. Landline by Rainbow Rowell. A few months ago when I was ready to start reading Rowell’s books, I was disappointed to discover that my library didn’t have any of them. But now they have Landline, so I checked it out. I liked Rowell’s other adult novel, Attachments, but I didn’t love that one as much as I expected. Still, it interested me in reading more Rowell books, and  I’m hoping this one will be even better.
  5. Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen. I discovered Sarah Dessen’s books in my first year of middle school, and loved them enough that I’ve kept up with her new releases, more or less. I haven’t always read them right when they come out, but I believe this is her newest release at the moment and I think it’s the only one I haven’t read yet. Also it’s just been sitting unread on my shelf for a few months now so it’s time I get around to it and February seems like the right time.
  6. Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke. I’m working toward clearing some unread books from my shelves, and even though I haven’t had this one waiting as long as some others, I’m highly intrigued by this mysterious and quirky YA book, so I want to pick this one up this month. It’s a pretty short stand-alone book, so it seems less daunting to dive into than some of my other options at the moment. I believe there are three contrasting characters who share a secret and at least one of them is lying about what happened.
  7. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I’m right in the middle of a gigantic Cassandra Clare read/reread, with eight books still to go (and another new release on its way), but I’ve decided to divide my series-reading time between the Shadowhunters and the Grisha world. I just can’t wait any longer to start reading Leigh Bardugo’s books, and getting through them all will mean five fewer unread books on my shelf. I don’t know much about this series, but that’s been my chosen reading method lately. I did read the synopsis before I bought this trilogy and I remember it sounded fantastic, so I can’t wait to refresh my memory and see for myself by diving in this month.
  8. I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. This one has been on my radar for several months, and it stood out as I was looking through my TBR and trying to decide on another adult book for this month. I’m in the mood for a thriller after reading Dark Matter in January, and I’ve heard good things about this one. I really don’t remember what it’s about, but I’m sure it’ll be a nice break from all the teen books.

febtbr

Wow, this is a YA-heavy list. I also have library holds on Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche’s We Should All be Feminists, but I don’t know exactly when those will be available for me. I’ll also be reading those these month if I receive them soon. I’m trying to prioritize and refrain from digging myself a hole too deep to climb out of, but I’m really hoping I’ll have another month like January, where I can finish my TBR and just keep going. I’m ahead of schedule for my 2017 reading goal, so if I end up busy with other things, I’m okay with scaling back my reading for a while. I mean, I’m going to be concerned about my social life and mental health if I don’t start spending a little more time in the real world, but that’s a worry for another day. Maybe the day after they ship me to the nuthouse. Although think about all the reading time I could have there–maybe I wouldn’t even want to worry about it then.

What did your first reading month of the new year look like? Stay tuned to see how I turned out with my January TBR!

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

One thought on “February TBR”

Leave a Reply

