April TBR

March fell a little flat, but I’m ready to get back in the game–the reading game–with a new and ambitious TBR. Also, April is my birthday month and books are my favorite thing so I’m in a general good mood and ready to read. I struggled to reach 8 completed books last month, but here are 8 more I’m really excited about and planning to read within April. I also have a few extras in mind, but I’m coming off of a small reading slump (I know I’ve been MIA, but I’m catching up on my posts now, I promise!) and I didn’t want to push it, at least not in my “official” TBR. These are the main books I intend to read in April:

  1. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain / Samuel Clemens. This is my classic of the month. It’s been so convenient and fun to have the classics I’m most looking forward to reading this year planned out by month. Having this schedule gives me enough choice about when I’m in the mood for each particular book while also encouraging me to actually keep up with reading them between all of my more recent choices.
  2. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare. Yes, this is the same Cassandra Clare book from my March TBR. I’m reading all of her books in publication order this year, and I wanted to read at least one per month, but I had to make some tough choices about which books I wouldn’t get to in March and sadly, this one was one of them. It’s one of the shortest Shadowhunter books, though, and I am really enjoying them, so I’ll definitely get to this one now in April and pick up an extra if I have time after completing my TBR.
  3. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. I’ve really been loving the Grishaverse so far, and even though I mostly read this trilogy because I wanted to get to the Six of Crows duology, I’m completely immersed in this story and I can’t wait to see how it’ll wrap up in this book.
  4. The Magician King by Lev GrossmanThis is another sequel to a new series I’ve started before finishing the others I’m already in the middle of. The end of the first book (and the TV show) left me needing more of this trilogy ASAP, so I’m already piecing it into my schedule.
  5. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. The movie for this one is coming out soon, and I might want to watch it. I’ve already read Yoon’s newer release, The Sun is Also a Star, so I’m pretty curious about her first novel and I want to finish reading it in time to see the film. I needed a fun and easy YA contemporary this month and I think this one will definitely fit the bill.
  6. Marlena by Julie Buntin. I didn’t have time last month for my Book of the Month Club selection from March because I was in a little slump and grabbed extra library books halfway through the month instead, but I’m interested in checking out this tale of a teen who moves and meets a force to be reckoned with (in the form of a destructive neighbor girl) only to have her entire life upset by the experience.
  7. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. I’ve been wanting to read some Neil Gaiman for a while, and I’ve picked up his newest release as my first forray into his oeuvre. I don’t actually know much of anything about this book yet other than that it’s had good ratings. I don’t even know much about Norse mythology, but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read about other mythologies and I think this will be something fun and different than what I’ve been reading lately.
  8. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. This book was a Christmas gift to myself, and now that it’s almost my birthday I don’t want to wait any longer to read it. I’ve heard it’s sad, and for some reason I’m always a little melancholy around April. Must be all the rain. Anyway, I’m in a mood for something sorrowful and it’s been a minute since I’ve read any historical fiction, so I’m ready to give this one a go this month.

FullSizeRender (5)

It was actually raining already when I took this picture, but I couldn’t wait for fairer weather. Getting my TBR lined up for the upcoming month always gives my reading a boost of excitement and productivity.

What makes you excited to read? And what are you planning to read next?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

One thought on “April TBR”

Leave a Reply

