June Wrap-Up

It’s been a weird reading month. I didn’t exactly stick to my June TBR, which is unusual for me. I feel bad about having skipped some of the books I meant to read because they were all high priorities for me in June, but even though I read some extra books that were not on my June TBR they were related to my original goals. So I don’t feel guilty about what I’ve neglected as much as I feel sad that there weren’t about 10 extra days in June for me to read everything I wanted to get to this month. But, in the end, I really didn’t do too badly.

The picture on the right is what junetbrI meant to read in June:

What I didn’t read:

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and
  • Vicious by V. E. Schwab have both been pushed back to my July TBR.
  • I was hoping to read the entirety of Kafka’s Metamorphosis and Other Stories, which didn’t happen, but I am glad that I at least read the one I most meant to (plus a couple extra pieces) and I do intend to get back to the rest of the content of the book at some point this year.
  • Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus was one of three books that received a tied winning vote from my first ever Choose My Next Read interactive post, and while I feel badly about not getting around to a book that I gave my readers the chance to choose, I did read the other 2 of 3 voted books and put The Night Circus back on my October TBR, where it came from. I will get to it then, if not sooner.
  • And finally, I didn’t read the exact Book of the Month Club book pictured there, but technically I did plan that I would read a BOTM book, not that specific one. So I didn’t read Scaachi Koul’s One Day We’ll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter (yet), but I did read 2 and 1/2 other BOTM books, so I’m still counting that a success and I will also get to this one eventually.

Thanks for sticking with me. Now for what I actually read this month. As usual, you can follow the links of the titles to my complete reviews with more info about the books and my thoughts while reading them. Pictures and links for the reviews that haven’t been completed yet will be updated shortly. Here’s what I read:

  1. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. 4 out of 5 stars. adiscoveryofwitchesI had this one from the library so I made it my first read of the month, which was somewhat unfortunate because it’s the one that threw me off of my TBR. It was a total guilty pleasure and not at all what I was expecting when I picked this off the library shelf after reading one short blurb about magic and a lost book. So I read this one, loved it but kind of hated myself for loving it, and immediately picked up the next volume in the All Souls trilogy.
  2. Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness. shadowofnight3 out of 5 stars. Here’s the second All Souls book, which was another guilty pleasure and not even as good as the first book in my opinion, but I was still hooked. This trilogy is full of nearly-600-page books, so straying from my TBR to read all three took a good chunk of reading time out of my month. This one was even more problematic than book one, but it had some interesting new elements as well and I was already committed to reading the entire series at once instead of taking breaks between books to savor it like I usually do. All Souls was such a guilty pleasure series that I didn’t even care about giving myself a chance to savor it, I just had to devour the whole thing at once and I’m almost to the point where I want to pretend it didn’t happen at all.
  3. White Fur by Jardine Libaire. 3 out of 5 stars. This is one of the June selections whitefurfrom Book of the Month Club. I was greedy this month and ordered three new books in my June box. Since I had already added 1000+ extra pages to my June TBR with the All Souls trilogy, I kind of wanted to just put my entire June TBR behind me and read all three of my new BOTM books, as well. But before that happened, I started simple with White Fur, which was allowable based on my TBR plan (one BOTM book). I didn’t love it as much as I expected, but I did enjoy reading it. It’s definitely the most unique love story I’ve ever encountered, and I’m glad to have it on my shelf.
  4. The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness. thebookoflife4 out of 5 stars. And we’re back to the All Souls trilogy. This third book was the best of them all, and I flew through it in about two days. I wasn’t as ashamed of loving this one, but as soon as I finished I reviewed it immediately and sent it back to the library and was glad to have the whole series behind me to get back to my original TBR.
  5. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. 3 out of 5 stars. This dorothymustdiewas one of the books that tied for a winning vote from my first Choose My Next Read interactive post. I really liked reading a book that I knew someone specifically wanted to see a review for, but unfortunately that was one of the only things I liked about this book. The plot had so much potential–enough potential that I will also be reading book two of this series, though the writing style was definitely not for me.
  6. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. thequeenofthetearling5 out of 5 stars. Here is another book that won a Choose My Next Read vote, and even though I was getting a little tired of reading so much fantasy by the time I picked it up, I ended up loving everything about this one. I was tempted to follow my All Souls path with this trilogy and just marathon all the books, but this is one series I do want to savor. Still, I plan to pick up book two in this trilogy in July because I have to see where this story is going.
  7. The Sisters Chase by Sarah Healy. 5 out of 5 stars. This was one of my June BOTM thesisterschaseselections, and it was one of those books that BOTM members are lucky enough to receive before the book’s actual publication date, which made it all the more exciting for me. I’m glad I made time for this one within the month because it’s a phenomenal story and I’m still over here crying about it. There are good things, too, mixed in with the tragedy, so it was just an all-around great, emotional read. It’s my favorite book from June.
  8. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. 4 out of 5 stars. I’ve been sporadically reading Shadowhunter books all year, and now I’m done with the fifth book in the Mortal Instruments series and I can hardly wait to read the final volume. This one was both better than expected and also a little frustrating because some of the relationship problems in this one feel like variations of the same relationship problems Clare has been using since book one. Either way, I had a good time reading this one and I’m planning to continue in July. Full review will be up tomorrow.
  9. “Metamorphosis” by Franz Kafka. 4 out of 5 stars. This was my classic of the month. It’s a short story rather than an entire book, although this story came from a volume of Kafka’s collected short works and I was hoping to read the whole thing. I’ve only read a few of the stories so far, but I do plan to revisit this volume later in the year and probably read all the content a little at a time. “Metamorphosis” itself, though, is pretty memorable. I already knew going in that it was about a hard-working man waking up one morning as a cockroach, which renders him unable to return to work and thus take care of his family. If you read for plot, you hardly need to read the rest of the story once you know that. The main focus of the piece is character development–or character revelation, more specifically. The man’s family have some pretty interesting reactions to his turning into a cockroach. I never thought I would find myself sympathizing with a giant bug, but more than anything I wished the man/cockroach had not let his family take advantage of him. To the very end, the man wants the best for his parents and sister, but he is not looking out for himself. Perhaps it’s the wrong moral to take away from this story, but “Metamorphosis” seemed to me a reminder that while benevolence is commendable, one must also make sure oneself is getting what is needed to go on–or all those good intentions will be for naught when you’re no longer capable of carrying them out. Overall, I did enjoy the story. I find Kafka’s writing a little odd but easily readable, creepy but entertainingly so. I’m glad I read this story, and I do want to read more Kafka in the future.

And an honorable mention. By the end of the month I had started but not finished reading:

  • A Million Junes by Emily Henry. This was the third and final book I received from BOTM in June, and I’m glad I had time at least to start it within the month, considering its title. Also, I’ve gotten into the habit of adding “extras” to my box after selecting my book of the month, and this is the first time since…February, I think, that I’ve actually managed to read all the books in my box before the next month’s books have arrived, which I’m proud of. This one is a YA magical realism story with some romance and an exploration of grief. There’s a great father/daughter relationship, a little not-too-spooky ghost presence, intense family history, and possibly the most entertaining flirting I’ve ever read.

So there you have it: my reading achievements of the month of June. 8 full novels completed, plus part of a 9th, plus a short story. I felt like I was reading nonstop this month so I kind of expected higher numbers than that, but some of the books I read were long. In any case, I’ve already started my July reading and I intend to accomplish even more. We’ll see what happens. I did mostly enjoy what I read in June, and that’s what counts more than any numbers do, so I hope to continue that trend in July as well.

What was your favorite June read?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

2 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up”

    1. Thanks!
      The Sisters Chase is a great book. It’s hard to categorize/summarize because it’s one of those books that’s best to go into without knowing where it’s headed, but it’s definitely worth the read. I hope you’ll love it as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

