March TBR

February flew by. I had too many reading ambitions and not enough time. I did work through all 8 books on my official Feb. TBR, but it was nowhere near the insanely great month I had in January. March, however, is slightly longer and I have big plans. BIG reading plans. This is my official TBR for the month:

  1. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare. I’m actually currently reading Clare’s Clockwork Angel, the book that comes before Fallen Angels in publication order, so technically I’ll be reading these both. I’m reading all of Cassandra Clare’s books this year in publication order, and Fallen Angels is the next one on my list–the fifth published, and the fourth in the Mortal Instruments trilogy. I really enjoyed rereading the first three books in this series, and I know I love the Infernal Devices, but I’m a little nervous about how this second half of the Mortal Instruments will go–it seems like it could hold a lot of potential, but it could also start to feel like what was originally a trilogy will be drug out to long, so I’m curious to see where this one will lead me.
  2. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. I thought it would make sense to only be reading one big series at a time, but I couldn’t put off the Grishaverse any longer; I read the first book in this trilogy in February and plan to continue with this sequel in March. I’m really enjoying this world and its characters so far (other than Alina at times, I hope she improves), so I’m looking forward to continuing onward.
  3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. This is my designated classic of the month. I’ve actually started this book previously, but I was busy with college things so it was back-burnered after three chapters. I’m planning to start over and read it all the way through this month, and this is probably the classic I’m most excited to be reading this year. I know it’s a romance, and I’ve read Wuthering Heights previously, by another Bronte sister, so I have high hopes for this one as well.
  4. Before the Fall by Noah Hawley. I wasn’t planning to pick this mystery up in March, but I saw it on the new arrivals shelf at my local library when I went in to request my holds for the month, and I couldn’t pass it up. A lot of the library books I read come through inter-library loan because all of the towns around my home are small and have to share copies of books. I have a weakness for checking out unplanned reads when I spot anything that’s been on my radar on the new releases shelf because I just get so excited that something I want to read has actually found its way to my library. So I placed my holds and added this one on extra even though I’d already planned for more than what’s on the rest of this list and was feeling a little overwhelmed by everything I wanted to be reading in March. But I’m excited for it anyway.
  5. Caraval by Stephanie Garber. This YA fantasy book was a new release in January of this year, and I put a hold on it at my library before it was even published but it’s taken this long for me to get my hands on it. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this one, and getting into this one while it’s new will give me extra incentive to also get around to reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern soon, which has been a goal for a long time. I wish I could have read The Night Circus first, but it took me too long to make time for it and I wanted to read this new release before it wasn’t new anymore. I’ve already missed that chance with The Night Circus.
  6. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I’ve been getting back into YA these past few months because I think that age bracket has really improved its literary options in the past few years while my interest dwindled. I’ve been rekindling my love for YA lit with some great newer releases, and this one (although not quite as new as some of my other picks) came highly recommended by a trusted friend who gave me a beautiful copy for Christmas.
  7. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. This book is quickly becoming a YA staple, and when I almost bought it at a bookstore last month I realized that I’m finally ready to actually read it. While I didn’t end up buying my own copy, I picked one up at the library soon after and plan to read it this month. It looks a little morbid, a little sad, and also a little heat-warming, so I’m excited to dive in.
  8. The Magicians by Lev Grossman. I’m currently writing an NA science fiction book, and feel that I need to read more adult sci-fi/fantasy before I make final edits and send the manuscript on. (Recommendations are highly appreciated!) This trilogy is one I’ve really been wanting to get into for a couple of months now, and I guess I’ve just given up on trying to finish one series before I start another this year. I don’t really know what this one’s about anymore, but I remember reading the synopsis and thinking it sounded absolutely perfect, so I’m happy to go in blind. I also know that this one has been turned into a TV show, and I’m all about those book to TV show adaptations, so I’m adding the show as well to my upcoming plans.

marchtbr

Eight books was also my goal for February, and I didn’t read much past that, so I thought I’d stick with the same number for March. Although this next month will be a little longer, some of my TBR choices are also a little longer this month, so eight feels like a realistic goal. I’m enough ahead of my Goodreads goal for 2017 that I don’t even need to read this many, but I’m enthused about all of these books–so enthused that I can’t wait another month to read them. I know that I can read YA and thrillers faster than some other books, so I think a lot of these will actually go pretty quick. As usual, I have a couple back-burner choices in mind in case I actually finish all of these with time to spare, but these are my highest priorities for March and I’m determined to read them all. My track record for 2017 TBR lists is good, so here’s to hoping.

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading in March?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

8 thoughts on “March TBR”

    1. Thanks! I’ excited about all of these books, but I’ve really been wanting to read Jane Eyre for quite a while! I liked the few chapters I’ve read previously, so I’m not sure why I kept putting it off, but I’m glad to finally be getting around to it. It should be a good reading month. Happy reading to you, to0!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the luck. I’m really looking forward to my March reading, but there are so many books I want to read that it’s hard not to be too ambitious! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

