July TBR

I have a TBR for July, but after I jumped all over the place with my reading in June, I don’t trust myself as much to stick to the plan, and thus it’s a loose plan. There are a few different parts to my list for July, so let’s look at those.

First, the winner of this month’s Choose My Next Read vote:

  • Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. This one’s about a Lithuanian teen who ends up in a Serbian labor camp with some of her family, and is trying to convey to her father, who’s been separated from them, what has happened to them–through her art. It’s a YA WWII historical fiction.

Second, the books I didn’t read from my June TBR that are being carried over to this month:

  • Vicious by V. E. Schwab. I believe this one features a few college students who are working together to create superpowers for themselves. Surely that will go awry. This will be my first V. E. Schwab book, and I’ve heard excellent things not only about her plots, but about her beautiful writing style, so I’m eager to check it out.
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I read Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy earlier this year, and have been meaning to start this tale of an epic Ravkan heist ever since. All I know is that it has new characters but takes place in the same world, and that I’m probably going to love it.

The books I currently have on loan from my library:

  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. This was a new YA release in May and has been receiving rave reviews. I know that it’s about a girl who watched her best friend die, and that it was inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement. This is a book that I’m sure will live up to its hype.
  • A List of Cages by Robin Roe. This is another 2017 YA release with great reviews. As far as I know, this one’s about struggling foster siblings  helping each other find their way through some similar difficulties after they’ve been separated and have found each other again.
  • A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. I’ve had my eye on this one for a while and finally found it at my library. Again, phenomenal reviews. All I know is that it features a crotchety old man with new neighbors who unearth a big story from the man’s past that will change all their lives in the present. I’m hoping for something like Mr. Fredrickson from Up.

Series I hope to continue this month:

  • Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. This is the third and final book in the Infernal Devices trilogy. This has been so long coming. It’s been years since I first read the two earlier books in this trilogy, and after rereading them earlier this year I’m dying to find out how it all ends for warlock Tessa and her Shadowhunter friends in Victorian London.
  • The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. This is the second book in the Queen of the Tearling trilogy, which I just started reading last week. There’s a lot of world-building and plot layout in book one, but even so I loved it and can’t wait to see what happens next for Kelsea and the Red Queen and everyone caught between them.

A new release I want to read ASAP:

  • The Lying Game by Ruth Ware. The publication date for this new thriller is July 25 in the US, and I will be reading this one as close to that date as possible because I have been eagerly anticipating a new Ware thriller since I finished reading The Woman in Cabin 10 last August. I don’t like to know too much about thrillers going in, but I do know that a woman walking her dog along a river finds a dead body that sets this one in motion.

My classic of the month:

  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. I have a cool annotated (and illustrated) copy of this one and it seems like a good summer-type classic. It will be my first but probably not my last Robert Louis Stevenson read, and I’m looking forward to it. It must be about sailing, and treasure, and adventure…

Some extra books I’ve been eyeing on my shelf lately:

  • All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood. This is a BOTM book I have backlogged on my shelf, and I’ve been meaning to read it for months. It’s about a young girl who’s father is a meth dealer, and who becomes unlikely friends with one of her father’s henchmen after he wrecks his motorcycle.
  • Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. I really want to read this one in the summer, and summer dwindles fast so I hope I’ll be able to fit this one in somewhere soon. It’s a YA novel that features a teen girl who’s best friend has gone away and left her a list of activities to keep her life from becoming too boring and complacent in the absence of her wilder friend.
  • A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin. I’ve actually read this one before, but only this first book of the Song of Ice and Fire series. I have been wanting to finish all five books that are published so far, and I think it would be best to just start over. This also seems like a good summer endeavor, because all that snow in Stark north is too miserable to read about in actual winter. It’ll be good to get back into this series and all the characters I love/hate.

julytbr

Those are the books I will likely be choosing from in July, 13 in total. I doubt I will have time to read 13 books this month, and after I veered from my plan in June I can’t even guarantee that I won’t be picking up something totally unexpected in addition. Some of these categories are higher priorities than others–I will certainly be reading the Choose My Next Read winner, the library books, my classic of the month, and probably that new release. After that, it’s anyone’s guess. Also, if the July selections from Book of the Month Club look anything like the irresistible choices from June, I will probably feel the need to cram an extra BOTM book or two in there somewhere, but I won’t know until the new selections are announced on the first. So I have a TBR, but I have no idea what will actually happen with my reading schedule in July.

If there’s anything on this list you particularly want to see a review for, please let me know in the comments below because that really helps me prioritize what to read next when there are just too many good choices!

What are you reading in July?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

8 thoughts on “July TBR”

    1. Thanks! I’m glad to be reading Treasure Island this month with an extra vote of confidence behind it. 🙂 I got my copy for less than $5 through Barnes and Noble, sometimes you can find some great things in their classics sales if you’re willing to dig a little.
      I’ll probably be reading THUG next week, I’m really looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I have such high hopes for The Lying Game. Fingers crossed. And I’m pretty sure A Man Called Ove will be right up my alley, too. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’m always more confident about going into a new book knowing that someone else has adored it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

