Review: Lot (+ We Need to Talk About BOTM)

Black lives matter! If you haven’t yet, check out this post where I’ve rounded up and explained a number of ways to help the movement, or just go straight here to do your part.

One of the things I’m doing to try to show my support and (hopefully) affect a change is to increase the number of Black authors whose work I’m buying, reading, and promoting through my book accounts. I’d like to put some books on your radar that might have slipped by you, including this remarkable short story collection you may have missed last year! Today I’m talking about Bryan Washington’s Lot.

lotIn this story collection, each piece is a snapshot of a time and place in modern Houston. Many of the stories follow one young man through his teens and early adulthood as he struggles to find his way through family and relationship strife, a changing (gentrifying) neighborhood, and prejudice against his identity as a biracial (Black and Latino) gay man. In some cases, all of these opposing forces combine. Other stories woven in between are not directly related to the main character’s life, but showcase others facing similar challenges within the same community.

This is a fantastic book to read this month, both for LGBTQ+ Pride and in light of the Black Lives Matter protests. I would, however, recommend it mainly to an adult audience, and perhaps not to anyone searching for basic education about racism or LGBTQ+ issues, just because the points that Lot has to make are largely revealed between the lines rather than explicitly stated and explained. (One example that has stuck with me is when a “whiteboy” gives our MC a new name because he can’t pronounce his real one- the MC does not react or share with the reader why this is Bad, so it’s up to the reader to pick up on this one-sentence insult.) It’s a book that’s not especially geared toward the white gaze. However, if you’re looking for subtler commentary on life in minority groups in America, you may appreciate with Lot has to offer.

“Money issues aside, leaving the neighborhood meant leaving the shop. Which meant leaving Ma. Leaving her broke and alone. […] Ma’s daughter had left her. Her son had left her. Her husband had left her. So I couldn’t leave her.”

This is a collection about characters, but it’s also a deep dive into a place- Houston. The stories are very grounded in that setting, but in many ways the city feels like it could be any place in America, and I really would be surprised if there aren’t similar undervalued communities in every metropolitan area. That is part of Lot’s magic- it manages to be very specific while also hinting at a much larger scope.

In a similar way, it shows particular experiences of non-white queer life, and while these characters are presented as unique and are given plenty of specific detail, they also indicate some generalities that seem more universal- the incidents of prejudice, the struggle to stay out of poverty and receive appropriate aid, the lack of fair treatment and opportunities driving down-on-their-luck and overlooked people into questionable professions like drug sales. Washington zooms in individuals and elaborates on their life stories, but if the reader takes a step back from single trees and examines the collection as a whole they’ll see an entire forest laid out, full of people caught in the systematic oppression we’ve been hearing so much about lately. It’s a stunning balance.

“Some days are just bad, he said. Some people live their whole lives and not a single good thing happens to them. / I told him those were just the rules. He should follow them unless he had something new to say.”

Though these are all separate stories and most would stand alone well, it’s best to read them all together as parts of a whole. About half of them follow the same family via the same narrator and are presented in chronological order. The last story references characters and plot points from previous, seemingly unrelated, stories. A couple of the pieces particularly impressed me from the set (the very last story, “Elgin,” was my favorite!), but on the whole I found each story immersive and interesting, with something to add to the overall narrative. There wasn’t a single story I disliked. The only point of dissatisfaction I had with the set was based on personal taste- these are slice-of-life stories, where I tend to prefer short stories that are a little… punchier? I love short stories full of drama and emotion. Instead, Lot is a slow-burn that chips at the reader’s heart a piece at a time and works to build a larger story than any one piece encompasses on its own, which is an effect I adore in character-driven novels but find harder to navigate in short story collections, where the reader must “start over” again and again with each new piece. To be fair, I think Lot would’ve suffered as a novel and its strength lies in its interlocking structure, it just requires a different sort of patience than I was expecting.

At the sentence level, the writing style here reminded me of Junot Diaz’s, in terms of pacing and flow. As for content, Washington gives the sort of cultural glimpse I’d hoped to find in Diaz’s writing and instead found lacking (in the one story of his that I read). I’ve never been to Jamaica, Guatemala, Mexico (or any other country outside of the US, unfortunately) but I loved the way Washington brought little pieces of their culture into the story through food, language, and behavior. Lot’s narration feels insightful, effortless, and easy to get caught up in. Washington’s is a fresh voice with plenty to say, and he says it well.

“People think about things all the time, he said. All people fucking do is think. But really, he said, you do things or you don’t.”

(DO sign petitions! Donate! Speak up against racism! The time for thinking without acting has passed.)

My reaction: 4 out of 5 stars. In my effort to amplify Black stories by reading and reviewing more of them, I just want to throw a reminder in here that I rate on the scale Goodreads suggests, based on my own enjoyment of the novel, not on the merit of the book nor in any reflection of the author’s ability or person. They might not all be 5-star favorites for me, but that doesn’t mean they’re not worth checking out! I think Lot‘s a great book and I’m glad I read it. I wouldn’t be averse to reading further from Washington in the future- and he does have a new release coming soon!

 

 

Before I sign off here, I want to say a little about what’s going on with Book of the Month Club, since I got Lot through their service. I’ve been a BOTM member since 2017, and I think the basic idea they’re operating on is a good one- offering a selection of hardcover new release books every month that members get to choose from, for only $10-$15.

But the current issue is that while protests were going on worldwide at the start of June, BOTM was promoting their June line-up, and conspicuously silent about the business’s stance on Black Lives Matter / current events. Finally, over the weekend, they posted on Instagram (their main social media outlet) an image featuring two non-fiction books by Black authors available through their site. On this post (which I’m not linking because the original text has been changed since), they received a lot of backlash in the comments for the fact that those two books were never main monthly selections for BOTM but farther down the site only as add-ons. A small gathering of six books on “antiracist learning” has been the only acknowledgment on the site of the recent protests. Further criticism included the fact that BOTM has included only 3 (out of 30) main selections this year by Black authors. Their selections are predominantly white, with an average of only one book (out of five) per month from an author who is not Caucasian. The majority of their judges, bookbassadors, and affiliates are also white. These facts, combined with the fact that the post came only after a fraught week of protests while BOTM promoted their own content, and the fact that their post of recommended reading offered no commitment from the company to work against racism in any way, drew a lot of ire.

In the midst of these complaints, at least one (Black) bookstagrammer announced publicly that her dissenting comments on the post had been deleted, and her account had been blocked from engaging with BOTM. Much of the Bookstagram/BOTM community is now calling for BOTM to issue an apology to this commentor, whose reasonable concerns were erased. Silencing a Black woman questioning the company’s committment to diversity and its current stance on BLM is… extremely low behavior on BOTM’s part, to put it mildly. I’m hoping there was some sort of accident or malfunction, that this happened only to one person, and that BOTM will share why it happened and commit to not doing anything like it in the future.

The reason I’m staying with BOTM for now despite their iffy (at best) response to current concerns of racism, is because after this debacle they released a stronger statement: it’s a general apology, a list of specific ways they’re planning to help fight racism with their platform and assets, and a confirmation that they stand with Black Lives Matter. The tone of their post and the comments seem to me genuinely apologetic and sincerely intent on doing better in the future. I’m glad they’ve been called out for questionable behavior and practices, and I’m not entirely satisfied with the way they’ve handled this yet, but I do think BOTM is in a great position to affect a positive change in the reading community (they have a HUGE influence in the US, even as they lose followers over this) and if they follow through with the list of goals they’ve posted it sounds like they’ll become a company I’ll be happier supporting. I’d love to see this major subscription service bringing diverse books to shelves across America (they’re only open to US readers at present) and supporting lesser-known authors who could benefit from the attention. While it is important to call out and challenge incidents of racism and put your money where it can best help those in need, I think it is also worth giving people/businesses a chance to learn and improve, and to support those willing to make that effort. I think it’s also important that when these companies send out their surveys to assess customer satisfaction someone is still there to advocate for positive change.

I’m sharing all of this here because I’ve pictured one of their books above, and don’t want you to imagine that I’m blindly ignoring what’s going on or in support of silencing Black voices in any way. I sincerely hope BOTM will become a better (more diverse and inclusive) service going forward, and if not, I will certainly be ending my membership.

That’s where I stand on that.

 

The Literary Elephant

34 thoughts on “Review: Lot (+ We Need to Talk About BOTM)”

  1. This sounds great! I must say, I hate the way a lot of YA novels feel the need to spell out why something is Bad, and I don’t see the need for it in YA either – I think it underestimates teenage readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a very solid collection! And I completely agree, books that spoon-feed the “point” to the reader are a major pet peeve, and especially in YA too much explanation can feel patronizing or, yes, even insulting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review!! I’m glad you enjoyed this book, and that the insights into other cultures were compelling for you! I also found Washington’s voice to be fresh and insightful; there were some lines in the book where I felt like he said SO MUCH using few words, and that was really powerful for me. I didn’t realize Washington is coming out with another book this year, but I’m really excited for that now!!

    And thank you for posting about BOTM. I use them but hadn’t been aware of their recent controversy. I agree with you: it sounds like they are committed to learning and making meaningful change. The fact that they include specific action steps and not just a trite apology or a black square is super encouraging. They do have a lot of influence, like you said, so I’m glad to see they’re going to use it to amplify more black voices from now on. (Also in general, I agree with you about giving people/institutions a chance to change and use their influence in a better way. I think “cancel culture” can be powerful, but by immediately “cancelling” things we give up the chance to hold them accountable and affect change).

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed Lot also! I completely agree that being able to say a lot with few words is a definite strength, and Washington really manages to impress with it. I’m looking forward to checking out how his writing translates to a novel format, I suspect I’ll like the upcoming book even more than this one! 🙂 I hope you’ll love it as well!

      Np! The fact that their statement has appeared only on their social media account and not on their website is another reason I’m not very happy with the way they’re handling things, but I do hope those actionable items will be carried out soon. Cancel culture does worry me somewhat, especially in a case like this. Of course it will hurt the company if they lose members over their lack of inclusivity, but with all those members who care about reading diversely just gone who will keep advocating for it? The fact that they are such a big and influential company is I think why they’re seeing such a strong reaction. I’ll be thrilled if they come out of this as a company that will be known for positively shaping the book industry!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I’m happy to give a company the chance to change, but I want it to be big. In the case of BOTM, they could let go many of their head folks and replace them with people of color. The co-founder of Reddit resigned from his own board to open a seat for a non-white person.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. That’s a great point. After seeing your comment, I was trying to look into BOTM’s leadership to see what the demographics are like…but all I could find is that they’re currently owned by a company called Pride Tree Holdings, which has an oddly sparse website. But I do hope to see BOTM make big changes, like you said.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. It does strike me as odd that there’s not more transparency on their website about the company’s mission, leaders, and how things are run. Usually there’s some sort of mission statement or note from the company’s president or something? But even BOTM’s statement about changes they want to make now in recognition of BLM appears only on their social media, not their website. I’ve been a member for 3 years now and don’t know any more about them than when I started. They claim to have 25-30% POC on staff, and 60% women. But they don’t state what positions those employees hold, and it would be interesting to know. I do hope they’ll make big changes in staffing at all levels, and perhaps let their members know a little more of what’s going on internally.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah, for such an influential company the lack of transparency is a bit strange! It would definitely be interesting to see the employee demographics at all levels – a couple companies I follow have recently been exposed for hiring BIPOC at lower levels to tout “diversity” even though their upper management is almost all-white. Rooting for BOTM not to be one of those companies!!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ve noticed that as well, and was hoping that wasn’t part of the reason BOTM isn’t more transparent about who’s filling their leadership roles. I hope that even though their percentage of POC employees isn’t high that those people are being given every opportunity in the company that they should be! And that those opportunities will be open to new hires as well as BOTM looks to expand diversity within the company.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That does seem like such a big and meaningful gesture! I’ve seen a bit of criticism where companies that have come under public fire for their BLM responses shouldn’t necessarily have all their white employees abandon ship just to stick POC with a company that’s taken a bad hit and will struggle going forward. But that’s a great look for Reddit, and in the case of BOTM, I do think they’ll survive this controversy and should be more inclusive in their staffing at all levels. Whatever changes they do end up making, I think if there isn’t a noticeable difference within the next couple of months they’ll be seeing (rightfully) a lot more criticism and a higher loss of subscribers.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great, I hope you’ll love it! 🙂 For such a quick read I think it accomplishes quite a lot, and is well-worth the read!

      Like

  3. This sounds like a great book! And I appreciate your info on BOTM. As a Canadian, I’ve only been following on the periphery but it does seem like they could be strong agents of change if they choose to be (and are held accountable by their readers).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is! Washington is definitely an author to watch. And BOTM would do very well to feature more books like this! I sincerely hope they’re on their way to making a positive change in the book industry (and perhaps to shipping outside of the US eventually!). It seems they’re in the perfect position to help readers find more diverse and lesser-known books, and I’d love to see them take that opportunity.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Especially right now! It seems like there is a huge interest in reading more diverse books and reading black authors and they could be so well poised to highlight many of those books!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly! Widening their range of selections should help widen their appeal to readers, since reading diversely has become such a widespread interest in the book community. And those who say they don’t care who the author is as long as the content is good shouldn’t mind, if they’re being genuine. Which leaves the “I’ll only read white authors” crowd, and that doesn’t seem like a fanbase to be proud of having anyway. Highlighting more diverse books going forward seems like such a win-win for BOTM, I really hope they’ll see that and go big with it!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I recently finished writing a review in which I discuss slice-of-life stories and why they drive some people nutty. I remember my thesis advisor being against them. Part of the issue may be that the writer just couldn’t come up with a construct to capture their character’s emotions, but the result to me often feels like a slice-of-life story that maybe could have been a poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, I’ll look forward to that! I hadn’t considered that before, that slice-of-life stories may come from a simple lack of more inventive construct, but you could be on to something. In theory, I think that slice-of-life pieces can be a great way of documenting ordinary life experiences, but I have to admit I just don’t find them as exciting to read.

      Like

      1. That’s a great comparison! I think both are forms that appear deceptively “easy” to pull off, when in reality they require their own particular strengths and skills from the writer.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooh, that sounds great! I’ll look forward to your review, and I REALLY need to pick up a copy of that book!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Great review! and thanks for sharing your thoughts on BOTM. i’m interested to see how they respond as well and i think a perspective that allows people to change is important.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! We’d get nowhere without allowing some room for growth, I think. I do hope some positive changes will come out of all this for BOTM; they have such a wide reach and could really help give diverse books a higher level of attention!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great review, and I appreciated your run-through of the BOTM controversy. I don’t have access to it here but I know their service is very popular in the book world. I was browsing through your exchange with Hannah and Melanie above and I agree with your sentiments—cancel culture is powerful and it’s a necessary first step, but it shouldn’t end there. What can be harder is giving these institutions with influence a chance to change and observing their progress on it. I hope over the next months and years we’ll see more POC employed with them, and also more diverse selections! Plus, I don’t think BOTM is the only institution facing this kind of criticism. I have read somewhere (though I forget the source) that the publishing industry—at least the big publishing houses—is largely composed of white individuals. Hopefully the protests and this BOTM controversy will also be a wake-up call to the entire publishing industry too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I agree completely. I have seen that big publishing houses are being called out also; it’s definitely an industry-wide issue that I sincerely hope will see some change going forward. With BOTM in particular the logo is right on the cover, so picturing their books seems like free advertising and I wanted to be clear that I wasn’t blindly promoting their service or quietly showing support for bad actions. It is important to pay attention to where our money is going and what it is being used to promote- cancel culture can help hold people/businesses accountable, but it really would be ideal for those already at the top to use the power they have to better purpose. I know BOTM has a major influence on first week sales for books they feature- if they focused on authors who really needed that boost they could do so much good. Probably more good than a brand new service could do in their place, if BOTM really was “cancelled.” Their July selections look like a step in the right direction, so I really hope they’ll continue to work toward being a force for good!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment