Review: Sleeping Beauties

I have just finished with a three-week buddy read of Stephen King and Owen King’s Sleeping Beauties, a 700-page dystopian novel that this father and son duo published last fall.  I chose it as an extra through Book of the Month Club a while back, and it’s so nice to have the longest book from my backlog now crossed of that list.

sleepingbeautiesAbout the book: Women around the world are falling asleep, as usual. What’s unusual is that once they’re unconscious, a cocoon forms around them, and the women do not wake up. The men, however, do continue to sleep and wake as usual. While they search for a cure and try to protect their female loves and family members, disagreements mount, power is lost and won, the number of deaths climbs, and chaos is the new ruling order. On the surface, the small Appalachain town of Dooling seems much the same– but the Dooling women’s prison houses Evie Black, a strange creature who appeared out of nowhere at the same time as the Aurora sleeping sickness, and may be the key to the mystery.

“Practically half the world was asleep, and the rest of it was running around like a chicken with its head cut off.”

Format-wise, Sleeping Beauties is much like Stephen King’s other works: chapters within chapters, multiple perspectives, informal and intelligent prose, bizarre but believable characters– and, of course, it’s a bit long-winded. This is a 700-page book that is still laying out premise two-thirds of the way through the novel. Sleeping Beauties goes straight from premise to intense climax to brief conclusion; it’s not a bad structure for this story, but it does mean over 500 pages of women falling asleep and men trying to figure out what to do about it before the main conflict even begins.

” ‘I need to see Lila-‘ So I can say goodbye, Clint thought. It occurred to him suddenly. The potential finality. How much longer could she stay awake? Not much. On the phone she had sounded– far off, like she was part of the way to another world already. Once she nodded off, there was no reason to believe she could be brought back.”

That’s not to say that the lead-up to the big showdown is boring. Every single character– and there are a lot of significant characters in this book: enough to fill a 4-page cast list– is uniquely interesting. Personally, I enjoyed the characters at the women’s prison most of all, but there’s quite a variety. Despite the variation in personalities and backstories, one constant is the undercurrent of feminist commentary. These messages are definitely more heavy-handed than I usually find Stephen King’s writing to be, which makes me wonder whether that’s down to Owen’s influence. I have not yet read any other books by Owen King, but Sleeping Beauties certainly leaves me curious about his writing style when working solo. Even if the feminism was a bit too in-your-face for my taste (one of the male characters is so misogynistic he’s basically a caricature), it is definitely a theme I approve of.

“Of course, everyone’s clothes seemed to be wrinkled now. How many men knew how to iron? Or fold, for that matter?”

One downside to the giant list of main characters and the quickly shifting perspectives is that it can be hard to connect with any of them individually. Even the most compelling chapters end after only a few pages, and then that character might not appear again for another hundred pages. But there’s also an upside to this tactic: the reader never gets to the point of dreading any particular character’s chapters. There was not a single character in this book whose name at the beginning of the chapter disappointed me– I didn’t have a single “oh no, not this guy again” moment in the entire book. Every character is fascinating. Even the fox. Yep, you read that right: one of the significant characters (included on the character list and everything) is “a common fox, between 4 and 6 years of age.”

But let’s talk a bit about the conclusion that follows. No spoilers, of course, but Stephen King’s endings are notoriously divisive, and this ending was the biggest drawback to Sleeping Beauties for me. Some aspects I loved: Evie’s unpredictability, the changes wrought in the aftermath, the reactions to deaths. But I did find the unanimous vote a little too unlikely, and some of the answers about the Aurora sickness a little too evasive– of the “maybe we’ll never know exactly what happened” type– or missing entirely. (Why Dooling? Why now? Why were the two men from the meth trailer killed? Why is Evie always naked?) I loved Part 3, the final 20 pages or so of the book, for its tragedies and triumphs. I loved that this isn’t necessary a happy-ending book, though things go as well as they can. It could’ve been a little better with a little more explanation about the supernatural aspects, but the battle was great. Plenty of firepower, death on both sides, and so much tension. I am a true believer in literary grit. And, of course, it’s always interesting to see how the balance/imbalance between the genders will play out.

“That was one way in which the sexes had never been equal; they were not equally dangerous.”

My reaction: 4 out of 5 stars. This book really turned around for the better for me in the final third, and even though a few unanswered (or too easily answered) questions about the basic premise and the book’s supernatural element kept me from giving it the full 5 stars, the slow bit at the beginning no longer bothered me by the end. Sleeping Beauties is not my new favorite Stephen King book, but the co-write was an interesting comparison to other King titles I’ve read, and I’m glad I finally got around to picking it up.

About my buddy read: This was only my second-ever buddy read; the first also featured a Stephen King book: It. I love Stephen King’s writing, but it’s definitely easier getting through some of his larger titles with someone to hold me accountable. I probably would have finished Sleeping Beauties faster on my own, but I wouldn’t have been reading other books on the side, and reading all 700 pages at once would’ve felt like more of a chore. Instead, my friend and I read about 230 pages per week, whenever it fit into our schedules, and at the end of the week we’d have a nice spoilery chat. That’s the best part of a buddy read, in my opinion: being able to talk about the book with someone who’s in exactly the same place and knows the same amount of information. That said, this wasn’t the best book to buddy read because there really wasn’t much going on in the first 2/3 of the book beyond characterization and premise-laying. We made some predictions, and spent a lot of the chat time wandering off to other topics. It wasn’t until the final chat that we really had plenty to say about what worked or didn’t. But even so, it was enjoyable enough that I still have positive opinions of both buddy reading and Stephen King.

Further recommendations:

  1. If you liked Sleeping Beauties, you should also check out Stephen King’s Under the Dome. It’s long, but if you’ve made it through Sleeping Beauties you already know you can handle a long book, right? Under the Dome is about another small town facing extenuating circumstances: a dome has suddenly surrounds the town limits. No one (and nothing) can get in or out. The infrastructure devolves much in the same way as it does in Dooling, so if you like the lawless power play in Sleeping Beauties, you’ll find plenty to enjoy in the situation under the dome.

What’s the longest book you’ve read? Did you like it?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

 

11 thoughts on “Review: Sleeping Beauties”

  1. I’ve still never read any Stephen King! I’m such a bad horror fan. But I’m glad you liked this one!

    The longest book I’ve read is Les Miserables coming in around 1400 pages, and it’s actually my all-time favorite book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, that just means you’ve got something great to look forward to! If you do decide to pick one up, I highly recommend starting with one of the old staples: Carrie, Pet Sematary, The Shining, etc. My all-time favorite (so far) is Bag of Bones, from right in the middle of his publications.

      You’ve got me beat! My longest book is another Stephen King, It, at a little over 1300. I’ve got a copy of Les Mis on my shelf that I haven’t gotten around to yet, but I’m looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m thinking I’ll go for The Shining when I decide to dive in! I’ve had some people recommend Pet Sematary and had others say it was a letdown, so I’m not sure what to make of that, but everyone seems to love The Shining so that feels safe. How many Kings have you read?

        Les Mis has most books beat, to be fair! People tend to not realize it’s actually longer than War and Peace (which I have also read but was mostly a miserable reading experience). But yes, I do hope you get around to Les Mis! I adore it so much.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think The Shining is definitely a good choice to start with. Creepy, psychological, not too supernatural. Pet Sematary is a bit more supernatural with an intense ending, which is probably why you’ve encountered some mixed opinions. The supernatural factors work better for some readers than others, in my experience, and King’s endings are notoriously divisive. Personally I do usually like the bizarre sci-fi stuff, but I would say the psychological aspects are my faves. I’ve read 14 of his books now, and I’ve really liked 13 of those, so I’m having a good run. My favorites have been Bag of Bones, 11/22/63, Misery, The Dead Zone, and The Shining. Not necessarily in any order. I also loved his memoir.

        I did not realize Les Mis was that long, either. It’s probably the longest novel I own and I didn’t even know! I’ll make sure to pick it up long before War and Peace. 🙂

        Like

  2. I would love to do more buddy reads, This sounds like fun! I’ve read a few of King’s most famous books, but very few compared to how many he’s written and not much of his recent work. I’d not even heard the plot for this one, but it sounds fascinating. A shame it was so heavy handed though, even if the message was good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hardly ever buddy read, but I have really enjoyed the couple of times it worked out! Aside from the heavy-handedness, Sleeping Beauties was very engaging. I’ve also mainly read King’s older, more popular novels, so reading a newer one was definitely interesting, and still clearly King. The plot doesn’t wander far from the synopsis- if the premise appeals to you, the novel probably will too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment