July Book Haul

Great news, guys, I stuck to my goal! I’ve been trying to acquire five books or less every month in 2017 because I want to work through a bunch of unread books already on my shelves, but I think this is only the second time I’ve actually accomplished it. Because books. They’re so tempting. Here’s what’s new –>

  1. Final Girls by Riley Sager. This is my July selection from Book of the Month Club, a slasher thriller about a handful of girls who’ve all been the “last one standing” after a murder spree. Now their initial survival is making them targets again, and this time the escapees won’t all survive. I’ve already started reading this book, but I think I’ll be finishing in early August.
  2. The Alienist by Caleb Carr. Here is an extra selection from BOTM that appeared on their list earlier this year, but was initially published in 1994. It fulfills a slot in my 2017 reading challenge, so I added it to my July box and will definitely be reading it before the end of the year. It takes place at the turn of the 19th century, which is one of my favorite time periods to read about, and features a psychologist (or alienist) as part of the team to solve a grisly murder.
  3. The Lying Game by Ruth Ware. I pre-ordered this book earlier this month because I’ve loved Ware’s previous two books and I wanted to get my hands on this one as soon as possible. This one’s a thriller about a body that washes up on shore and a group of women who were friends from childhood who’ve made a game out of lying. Now it seems that one of them has been lying to the others and someone’s life is at stake… I would’ve read this one already, but the mail was slow so I’m starting today.
  4. The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. I bought the first two books in this series in paperback at the end of 2016 and had kind of been waiting to read them until I could get this one to match and finish out the collection. The paperback came out this month, and now I’ve read book one and intend to be reading book two literally at any moment, so I’ll definitely be getting to this one soon. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this trilogy’s ending, and I can’t wait to see for myself how it’ll end.

julybookhaul

And that’s it. My short and sweet July book haul list. This is one haul I’m sure will be completely crossed off my TBR before the end of the year, which I’m proud of. It means I’ve made smart choices about what I will actually be reading soon. This is what I was aiming for all year, but I’ve only accomplished it maybe twice, so I expect bigger book hauls on the horizon. I already have a Book Outlet order planned for August, so we’ll see how far off my goal of 5 I’ll be next month.

What new books are you looking forward to reading? Have you read any of these?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

6 thoughts on “July Book Haul”

    1. Ha I know the feeling! I’ve been working on lessening my TBR all year but it seems like every time I make some progress and cross a few books off the list, I add twice as many new ones! It never ends, but maybe that’s a good thing. I think it would be awful to have a completely empty TBR list…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know how you feel!!!
        You won’t believe it but when I started reading on my kindle about 2.5 years ago, there was a time in the beginning where I had no books on my tbr!! I mean, I was all new to this book community etc. and I actually went through amazon and didn’t know what to read. That thought is unbelievable now! 😀
        -Sabrina

        Like

      2. Wow, that is hard to imagine! I can’t remember a time like that in my reading life; I haven’t always had an actual list of books to read, but I’ve always had things in mind. Still, there are times I go to bookstores and completely ignore my TBR to find the unknown. That’s probably as close as I’ll ever get to feeling like I have an empty TBR. I want to read eVeRyThInG.

        Like

    1. I struggle with it too. I’ve only stuck to my 5 book rule 2 of the 7 months so far this year. And I’ll probably celebrate my good behavior with more new books… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

