August TBR

I’m in one of those reading moods where I just want to read everything all at once and the certain knowledge that I won’t have time to read every book before I die is extremely depressing. It’s made me a little more impulsive than usual with what I’m picking up to read next. In July, I set my TBR much larger than I could manage, so that I would have plenty of choice in what to read next. The problem with that tactic is that when I started working on my August TBR my first instinct was to add all the extra books I hadn’t gotten to from July because I felt like I’d failed for neglecting them. But I don’t want my TBRs to make me feel like I’m failing, so I’m trying a new tactic. This month, I’m only listing the bare minimum in my TBR, the books I know I will absolutely be getting around to–the next books in series I’m reading, the reading challenge fulfillers, etc. When I finish those, I’ll decide what to read next as I go. Here’s what I know for sure I will be reading in August–>

The book you voted for in my latest Choose My Next Read post:

  1. The Hobbit, by J. R. R. Tolkien. The category was “first in a YA series,” but I’m also counting it as August’s Classic of the Month. (My classic of the month was supposed to be Dumas’ vengeful The Count of Monte Cristo, which I still really want to read but I have other long books in mind for August so I’m going to put that one on hold for now.) This one’s about a hobbit going on an adventure in search of treasure, and there’s an elf and a dragon, I think, and that’s all I know. But I’ve been meaning to read this book for years, and I can cross two reading goals off my list with this one book so I’m going to pick it up in August.

A reading challenge book:

  1. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie. I love a good murder mystery, and this one also fulfills a slot in my 2017 reading challenge (book based on a true story). Also, there’s a movie coming out based on this book in November and I’ve never seen an Agatha Christie-based movie but I want to. It follows a murder case that’s taken place on a train, where everyone is a suspect and anyone could be the next victim. I don’t actually have a copy of this one in my hand yet but it will arrive in a few days and it’ll probably be a fairly quick read.

A library book:

  1. Stardust by Neil Gaiman. I know this is an adult fantasy in which a boy is chasing a fallen star for the girl he loves, and I don’t know much else other than Neil Gaiman wrote it. I’ve been wanting to read more of his books, and this is the one I found at my library. It looks short and fun, and reading A Game of Thrones in July put me in the mood for more fantasy so I’m going to give this one a try.

Series I plan to continue immediately:

  1. The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. This one was on my July TBR and I didn’t find time for it, but I do really want to continue this series (first book: The Queen of the Tearling). I’ve heard that this second book is the best, and I can’t wait to see what will happen when Kelsea, new queen of the Tearling, will clash with the powerful Red Queen of the neighboring land. Also, Mace is pretty cool. I’m excited to see what will happen next for this crew, especially now that I’ve ordered book three to wrap up the trilogy.
  2. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. I’ve been reading Clare’s Shadowhunter books in publication order this year, and I’ve finally reached the end of her biggest series. This is the 6th book in the Mortal Instruments series, and after I’m through with this one I’ll be moving on to the short story collections, and then to the most recent releases in the Dark Artifices trilogy. I’m so excited for all of that, but first I have to find out how this saga will end for Clary and Jace and the rest of their friends. Will they finally outsmart Sebastian and fix the clave?
  3. A Clash of Kinds by George R. R. Martin. Last month I finally picked up A Game of Thrones again, and loved it just as much as the first time. But now I’m planning to continue, and the length of this one is part of the reason I changed my classic of the month to a shorter book, because right now this is a higher priority for me. I’m finally going to read all of the books in this massive series, and watch all of the episodes. I’m certain I’ll get to this one really soon even though I know it’ll take considerable time to work through. I can’t wait to see what happens next for all of my favorite (and most-loathed) characters.

A Book of the Month Club selection:

  1. Final Girls by Riley Sager. This was my July selection from BOTM, a slasher thriller that looks more suited for October than summer, but I’ve seen some great reviews and I’m a thriller fan year-round. I did read a few pages already, and thrillers also go fast so I’ll probably wrap this one up at the start of the month. It’s about three girls who’ve been the “lucky” survivors of murder sprees, who are now being pushed together and targeted by a new killer because they escaped the first time.

augusttbr

And that’s my list. It’s 7 books, and I’m fairly confident I’ll read more than that, but these are my top priorities at the moment. I needed a non-overwhelming TBR this month. I want to be able to cross everything off the list instead of leaving a handful of unread books at the end of the month. (Although I’ve also got library holds on Midnight at the Electric, Exit West, and Because You Love to Hate Me, plus I’ll have a new BOTM book coming, and I’m still expecting The Lying Game in the mail, so no matter how many books I put on my official list for the month, clearly they keep piling up.) Wish me luck.

What are you reading in August?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

2 thoughts on “August TBR”

  1. I think it’s a great idea to put in your TBR the books you’re sure you’ll read, I’m trying to do the same in mine and if then after read those, some other books appears even better. I hope you enjoy your readings !, The Queen of the Tearling sounds so good I need to read it 😍😊

    Like

    1. Yes, I tried using my TBR as a sort of assignment list for a while, but it’s not as fun to feel like you *have* to read something. Even just within one month my reading moods change enough that I’d like to have more room for whims instead of assignments. I’m hoping I’ll finish my TBR and then choose from whatever excites me later in the month.
      And I highly recommend The Queen of the Tearling! I can’t vouch for the rest of the trilogy yet, but I loved the first book. The MC is a strong, admirable female lead, and the assassins keep things interesting. 🙂
      Good luck with your August TBR, and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

