Reading Challenge Update 2

It’s that time again–time to check in with my 2017 reading challenge. I picked up this challenge from my library in January, and I’ve been aiming to clear out some of my extensive TBR books by fitting books that are already on my list into these 50 challenges. Every three months, I share my progress with you to help hold myself accountable and keep going. I’ve made some progress and some changes since my last update, and I’m pretty pleased with where I stand at this point.

User’s guide: the books in parentheses are titles I intend to read but haven’t yet. No parentheses means I’ve already read it and checked it off my list this year. Links are provided for all books that I’ve read and reviewed, in case you missed one of my reviews that you’re interested in checking out. Any categories without a title are still undetermined, and open to suggestion!

Here’s where I stand:

  1. A book with more than 500 pages: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  2. A classic romance: (Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen)
  3. A book that became a movie: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
  4. A book published this year: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
  5. A book with a number in the title: (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo)
  6. A book written by someone under thirty: (Swamplandia! by Karen Russell)
  7. A book with nonhuman characters: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
  8. A funny book: A Million Junes by Emily Henry
  9. A book by a female author: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  10. A mystery or thriller: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
  11. A book with a one-word title: (Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman)
  12. A book of short stories: (Because You Love to Hate Me by various, ed. Ameriie)
  13. A book set in a different country: (The Wrath and the Dawn by Rene Ahdieh)
  14. A nonfiction book: We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  15. A popular author’s first book: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  16. A book you haven’t read before from an author you already love: Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood
  17. A book a friend recommended: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  18. A Pulitzer Prize-winning book: (All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr)
  19. A book based on a true story: (Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie)
  20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list: (The Color Purple by Alice Walker)
  21. A book your mom loves: Vows by LaVyrle Spencer
  22. A book that scares you: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough
  23. A book more than 100 years old: Persuasion by Jane Austen
  24. A book you picked up because of its cover: Faithful by Alice Hoffman
  25. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t: (The Lover by Marguerite Duras)
  26. A memoir: Talking as fast as I Can by Lauren Graham
  27. A book you finish in a day: Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton
  28. A book with antonyms in the title: (Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott)
  29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit: (The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney)
  30. A book that came out the year you were born: (The Alienist by Caleb Carr)
  31. A book with bad reviews: Lucky You by Erika Carter
  32. A trilogy: The Grisha trilogy: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
  33. A book from your childhood: (The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen)
  34. A book with a love triangle: Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
  35. A book set in the future: (Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman)
  36. A book set in high school: The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
  37. A book with a color in the title: (Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys)
  38. A book that makes you cry: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  39. A book with magic: The Magicians by Lev Grossman
  40. A graphic novel: (Orange by Ichigo Takano)
  41. A book by an author you’ve never read before: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  42. A book you own but have never read: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
  43. A book that takes place in your hometown: (Still not sure about this one. There are no books that take place in my hometown. I’m still considering adjusting this prompt, but if I can’t come up with a nice compromise, I’ll concede this slot.)
  44. A book that was originally written in a different language: (The Iliad by Homer)
  45. A book set during Christmas: (A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens)
  46. A book written by an author with your same initials: (Still not sure about this one. I haven’t extensively combed my TBR for this one yet, but I haven’t read anything by an E. A. D. and nothing jumps to mind. I’m still keeping an eye out, but I might skip this one if I can’t find anything. Do you know of any books by an E. A. or E. D. or even an A. D.? Seriously. Help!)
  47. A play: (Macbeth by Shakespeare)
  48. A banned book: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  49. A book based on or turned into a TV Show: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
  50. A book you started but never finished: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

My stats –>    Completed Categories: 28/50      Undecided Categories: 2/50

Now that we’ve passed the end of June, I’ve also passed the halfway point for this reading challenge. I’ve completed over half of the categories, so I’m in a good place, time-wise. Two more from this list are on my July TBR, and as I’ve been perusing this list to prepare the update, I’ve also taken the time to make a tentative plan of which months I’ll be wanting to read the books that are left. I don’t want to start December with no room on my TBR because I’m trying to cram in all the books from my challenge that I forgot to read earlier. Between the two that I’m reading this month and the three that are already in my Classic of the Month schedule, I’m down to only 18 books that I’m tentatively spreading throughout the rest of this year. So I’m on track, and I’m organized. But you know what they say about the best laid plans… we’ll see what happens. I’ll update my progress again at the beginning of October, which will be the start of the final three-month mark. My goal is to have no more than 12 books left at that point.

Are any of you still chugging along with your year-long reading challenges? How’s it going?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

3 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update 2”

    1. Great ideas! 🙂 The only E. D. that kept coming to my mind was Emily Dickinson, and I’m just not in a mood to read a whole book of Dickinson poems this year. But I have been looking at The Wonder for several months, so that would be in good keeping with trying to use these categories to work through my TBR backlist. I did read Room last year and would definitely be interested in reading another Emma Donoghue book. Thank you for the suggestion!

      Like

Leave a Reply

