June TBR

I wanted to do something a little different with my TBR this month. I wanted to create a short list of must-reads and a longer list of books to choose from in the reading time I would have left afterward. But the more I looked at all the time the short list would leave me and the great books on that longer list of choices, the more I narrowed them down; soon I had a full length list of must-reads and not many choices left. So below you’ll find a pretty normal TBR, although I left some flexibility in it to keep things interesting.

  1. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. I’m prioritizing the Shadowhunter books because I’m right in the middle of the two older series and I’m excited to get to the Dark Artifices soon, so I will definitely be reading at least one Cassandra Clare book this month. I think it’s highly likely that I will also be reaching for Clockwork Princess, the final book in the Infernal Devices trilogy (and next in publication order) later in the month if I reach the end of the list early. I won’t explain what these are about here because 1. many of you probably know about the Shadowhunter books by now, and 2. if you don’t, these are middle/end-of-the-series books and spoilers are cruel.
  2. Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. This is my classic of the month (it’s about a man who can’t work because he’s turned into a bug). Since I set up a schedule of twelve classics I wanted to read this year and I haven’t ditched the plan yet, I’ll definitely be reading this month’s classic so I can keep up with my list. Although I decided months ago to read this one in June, I’ll also have a choice with this one–the actual story of Metamorphosis is pretty short, but the copy I bought also has other stories in it. I’ll leave it up to impulse whether I’m going to be reading those other Kafka stories in June.
  3. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. I’m starting another series, guys. A trilogy. Shocker. I’ve been having such a hard time choosing which series to dive into next because there are so many good ones I want to read this year, but I checked this one out of the library so I’ll definitely be reading it soon. I think it’s about a special magic book that’s been lost and is unexpectedly found by some unsuspecting soul, and there are witches and maybe vampires? I don’t remember, but it sounded fun and I grabbed it at the library to stop myself from purchasing three more books I don’t even know yet if I’ll like. I’ve made a wise money decision! I feel like an adult!
  4. A BOTM book. Here’s a bit of flexibility in my TBR. I have a small backlog of BOTM books (Swimming Lessons, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, One Day We’ll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter, and Since We Fell), and I don’t know yet what the June selections will be (they’re announced on the first), so by the time my BOTM box arrives I’ll have several to choose from. I’ll read one of them for sure, but who knows what it’ll be.
  5. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. I decided to add an extra interactive post to my monthly repertoire in May to help me decide which unread book from my shelf to read next. (You can watch for it again near the end of June–I think I’ll try it at least one more time with a fresh category to vote from.) I had fun with it, and I hope the three people who voted had fun with it, but I led myself straight into the dilemma of offering five books to choose from and no plan for a tie-breaker. Since I originally had a shorter list this month anyway, I decided just to read all three books that received a vote, and this was one of them. It’s a YA first-in-a-series book about a new Kansas girl who steps in to solve some problems that have arisen in Oz after Dorthy went a little power-crazy and turned the well-known fantasy world upside down.
  6. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Here is another book that received a vote from the unread selections I posted about in May (check out this link if you’re interested in the layout/process or want to see the other selections). I had originally planned to read this one in October, but I have too many books I want to read around then. Also, I’ve been really intrigued by this one for years and it’s beyond time I finally fit it into my schedule. It’s about a traveling magical circus, at the heart of which are two competing magicians who fall in love, but aren’t both supposed to survive the deadly “game” they’ve been pushed into.
  7. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. This is the final book that received a vote from Choose My Next Read: Round 1. It’s a fantasy novel (first in a trilogy, because clearly I like to start a million series at once and try to juggle them) about a girl who becomes a queen and finds that leadership is not what she expected. I know there’s magic that involves a special sapphire, and an evil queen (there are multiple queens in this world) and some politics and a quest for revenge. Beyond that, I’m going in blind on the strength of the reviews and recommendations I’ve seen for this series.
  8. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I gave myself a month away from the Grishaverse, but it didn’t feel like a vacation. I missed Ravka. I feel like this should be a low-priority book because I’m not invested in the story yet (this is the first book in a duology), and I own it, so it’s not going anywhere while I put it off; but I know in my bones that I’m too impatient to wait any longer so I might as well add it to the official list. I think it’s about a big heist that a group of misfits work together to pull off in the same setting as the Grisha trilogy.
  9. Vicious or A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab. Here’s another choice I’m leaving myself. You may remember (kudos if you do) that A Darker Shade of Magic appeared way at the end of my May TBR, but even at that time I knew I was assigning myself more books than I would probably have time for. As I feared, I didn’t manage to read it in time. I still really want to, so expect to see it being reviewed in the next month or two, but since I have several first-in-a-series books in this list already, I am considering reading Vicious for now instead. I know for sure I want to start reading Schwab’s books this month, but I’m going to let myself choose which one I feel most in the mood for later in the month, once I’ve decided how many of these other series I intend to continue juggling.

junetbr

And that’s my TBR for June. It’s pretty fantasy-heavy, and there are several new series I’ll be starting this month, which doesn’t really seem like what I was expecting for June, but it looks good. I also have several extras (with more genre variety) in mind in case I finish the list early, but nine books already looks like a full month for me, so we’ll see. Although there are nine books in this TBR photo, those are subject to change, according to the choices I left open in the descriptions above. I just like to have a visual map for the month, even if it’s a tentative one.

Have you read any of these books? Are any of them in your summer reading plans?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

Leave a Reply

