Choose my Next Read

Hello, fellow readers. I want to try something new here. I want to give you a choice in the reviews you’ll find posted on my blog (and I also just need some help making up my own mind). Over the last year or so, I’ve accumulated more books than usual–while I plan to read them all eventually, it’s gotten more and more challenging to decide which title to reach for next.

I’m launching what I hope will be a monthly event, dependent on the interest level in it. I will choose a book-related theme, and five unread books from my shelf, one of which will appear on my TBR for the next month. I’ll count on you to help me choose! I’ll share the books’ synopses, and set an end-date for votes. Then I’ll tally up the responses in the comments, and the book with the most votes will find its way onto my next TBR for reading and review. I hope you’ll have as much fun with this as I will!

The theme for June is red books. Here are the choices:

choosemynextread1

  1. The Magician’s Lie by Greer Macallister. A female illusionist is accused of her husband’s murder after her participation in an impressive new magic show. She is given one night to prove her innocence after her actions in the magic show seem to have spelled her guilt, in which time it is revealed that nothing is as it appears.
  2. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. (YA) Dorothy came back to Oz and turned the world upside down when she became a little too power-hungry. Another girl from Kansas is swept into the tale, forced to sort out the differences between the stories she’d heard of Oz and the reality she’s found, in which many of the good and evil characters seem to have switched roles.
  3. The Girl in 6E by A. R. Torre. A woman has shut herself off from the world for the safety of everyone around her–she can’t stop thinking about murder and fears that any contact with the outside world will end badly for the other party. She works from home, online, pulling in paychecks with erotica, until she sees something online that may lure her out of solitude–someone is set on murder, and the only way she can stop them is to turn the tables and unleash herself on the potential murderer.
  4. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. (YA/NA) A young princess finds herself thrust into the role of queen. She’s not the only queen in this divided land, nor does she inherit a peaceful, prosperous realm. She possesses a magical sapphire, and is immediately tested in her abilities as she becomes immersed in the Red Queen’s plot for fresh revenge.
  5. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. A secret, magical circus sets the stage for a battle between players who don’t know the true nature of their competition–or how high the stakes. They fall in love amidst the illusions and charms of the circus, but their masters in magic have other ideas about how the show will end, and plan for only one of them to remain standing at the end of the game.

After writing those descriptions, I’ve realized that there’s a lot of magic/fantasy in this list. I was hoping that choosing books based on their appearance would give this first list more variety, but as I’ll select a different bookish category each month there should end up being quite a lot of variety.

Now you decide: what should I read in June?

Feel free also to leave suggestions for future categories I might select books from, but I’ll have to check that I have enough unread books on my shelf to match the category before I can make any promises on what’s next.

All votes will count until 10pm (Central Time, US) on the 29th of May.

May the best book win!

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

9 thoughts on “Choose my Next Read”

Leave a Reply

