Reading Challenge Update 1

In case you missed my post about it in January, I’m participating in a reading challenge hosted by my local library for 2017. Well, participating is a loose term. I’m participating alone, since the library doesn’t have any sort of organizational system in place to unite the people who picked up the challenge. But that’s how I wanted it: an easy lead-in just for my own personal reference that I could fill with books from my TBR just to help motivate me to keep pushing through the books on my shelves and practice crossing books off a list so I’m prepared for a more adventurous challenge next year. For now, I’m doing my best to fill all 50 slots with books I already know I want to read. We’re a few months into the year now, though, so I’ve made some changes to my list as I’ve actually been reading through my TBR instead of just planning my year, so I wanted to check in with my progress and fill in some of the blanks that I left open last time around.

Some of the books have changed within the categories from what I originally planned because I fit in the books that I had actually read if they fit in somewhere, although I still plan to eventually read all the books I included in January’s tentative plan, even if they don’t end up fitting into this challenge. There are still a few holes, but here’s how I’m doing and what I’m still planning to read (unread books will be listed in parentheses):

  1. A book with more than 500 pages: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  2. A classic romance: (Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen)
  3. A book that became a movie: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
  4. A book published this year: (A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas)
  5. A book with a number in the title: (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo)
  6. A book written by someone under thirty: (Unsure at the moment. I was going to use Iron Gold as my book for this category, but its release has been pushed back to January 2018, so I’ll have to find something else to fill this slot.)
  7. A book with nonhuman characters: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
  8. A funny book: (My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows)
  9. A book by a female author: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  10. A mystery or thriller: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
  11. A book with a one-word title: (Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman)
  12. A book of short stories: (Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell)
  13. A book set in a different country: (The Wrath and the Dawn by Rene Ahdieh)
  14. A nonfiction book: We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  15. A popular author’s first book: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  16. A book you haven’t read before from an author you already love: Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood
  17. A book a friend recommended: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  18. A Pulitzer Prize-winning book: (All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr)
  19. A book based on a true story: (Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie)
  20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list: (The Color Purple by Alice Walker)
  21. A book your mom loves: Vows by LaVyrle Spencer
  22. A book that scares you: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough
  23. A book more than 100 years old: Persuasion by Jane Austen
  24. A book you picked up because of its cover: Faithful by Alice Hoffman
  25. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t: (The Lover by Marguerite Duras)
  26. A memoir: (Talking as fast as I Can by Lauren Graham)
  27. A book you finish in a day: Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton
  28. A book with antonyms in the title: (Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott)
  29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit: (The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney)
  30. A book that came out the year you were born: (Still not sure about this one. There are currently no books on my TBR that fulfill this category, so I’m not sure if later in the year I’ll pick up something anyway or if I’ll decide to skip this one.)
  31. A book with bad reviews: Lucky You by Erika Carter
  32. A trilogy: (The Grisha trilogy: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. Progress = 2 of 3 books read so far)
  33. A book from your childhood: (The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen)
  34. A book with a love triangle: (Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare)
  35. A book set in the future: (Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman)
  36. A book set in high school: The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
  37. A book with a color in the title: (The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons)
  38. A book that makes you cry: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  39. A book with magic: The Magicians by Lev Grossman
  40. A graphic novel: (Orange by Ichigo Takano)
  41. A book by an author you’ve never read before: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  42. A book you own but have never read: (I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson)
  43. A book that takes place in your hometown: (Still not sure about this one. There are no books that take place in my hometown. I’m still considering adjusting this prompt, but if I can’t come up with a nice compromise, I’ll skip this one.)
  44. A book that was originally written in a different language: (The Iliad by Homer)
  45. A book set during Christmas: (A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens)
  46. A book written by an author with your same initials: (Still not sure about this one. I haven’t extensively combed my TBR for this one yet, but I haven’t read anything by an E. A. D. and nothing jumps to mind. I’m still keeping an eye out, but I might skip this one if I can’t find anything. Do you know of any books by an E. A. or E. D. or even an A. D.?)
  47. A play: (Macbeth by Shakespeare)
  48. A banned book: (To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee)
  49. A book based on or turned into a TV Show: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
  50. A book you started but never finished: (Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte)–currently reading

 

My stats:

Finished categories = 20/50

Categories in progress = 2/50

Undecided categories = 4/50

I’m pretty happy with my progress so far. Several of these books are in my current monthly TBR (not to mention the fact that I’m currently reading one of them at the moment, probably literally) so I’m still making forward motion on this list. I’ve read a ton of books already this year that have been piling up in my master TBR, but I’m discovering that no matter how many books I cross off there are always more to replace them. My master TBR hovers around 280 books all the time, so I don’t feel like I’m making much of a dent, but I am glad I’ve finally read lots of these books that I’ve been meaning to get around to. And in the end, what fun is an empty TBR shelf, anyway? I’ll keep reading, I’ll keep wanting to read more, and hopefully I’ll have some fun finishing some challenges in the meantime. I’ll check back in with you on this in a couple more months.

How are your reading challenges going this year? Are any of these books on your lists?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

One thought on “Reading Challenge Update 1”

Leave a Reply

