March Book Haul

I’ve been trying to keep my book accumulation to reasonable proportions this year, with mixed results. This month I found a good balance: enough new books for an exciting book haul, but not so many that I’m suffocating under another new stack of unread books. Other than the one I’ve already read, these are all books that I want to try to read very soon; another reason that I’m happy with this book haul is that I managed only to pick up books I already knew I was interested in. I mean, you can never have too many books, but I’m trying to avoid senseless buying just for the sake of having more. I think I accomplished that this month. Here’s what I picked up in March:

  1. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab. Barnes and Noble was having a small sale and I decided to pick up something for my birthday–never mind that I was a month early for birthday books. I’ve been wanting to read this fantasy trilogy about alternative Londons for months now, so when I found a sale that applied to it I ordered the first book. I considered leaving it in the packaging to treat myself on my actual birthday in April since that was my excuse to buy it now, but… I just couldn’t wait…
  2. Marlena by Julie Buntin. This is my March Book of the Month Club selection, and I wanted to get around to it in March but ended up reading less than I’d hoped. The books on my TBR were a little bigger and slower than I’d anticipated, and I picked up extra library books partway through the month. But I’m still expecting to get to this one early in April before receiving my next BOTM. It’s on my April TBR already, so I have to read it soon. This one’s about a girl who moves when her parents get divorced and becomes friends with the destructive girl next door, whose life and death will affect our narrator long after she’s gone.
  3. Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham. I’m actually planning to read Lauren Graham’s Gilmore Girls memoir first, Talking as Fast as I Can, but I’ve been really curious for a few months about her fiction, too. I probably wouldn’t have picked this up now if it hadn’t been on Book Outlet for a very reasonable price, but it was, so I did. I believe it’s about a young woman trying to make it as an actress, but it’s Graham’s take on “life lessons” and finding success that really interest me about this one.
  4. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker. This one looks beautiful and sounds magical and all I remember from investigating this book is that it’s primarily a tale about humanity and an unusual alliance, which all sounds good to me. It was an impulse buy, but it was on my radar already, and again it was on Book Outlet where everything is affordable so I snatched it up.
  5. In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware. I’ve already read this book, but I enjoyed Ware’s two thrillers so much last year that I had to buy the one my collection was missing, especially since I already know I’m going to buy her new release this summer as soon as it’s available. I can definitely sense a reread somewhere on the horizon (otherwise I wouldn’t have bought it), but I’m not in a hurry. It was only a few dollars on Book Outlet, so I couldn’t resist.
  6. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. This is really the reason I ordered from Book Outlet at all this month. I have the rest of the Shatter Me series in paperback and had been waiting for months to find the final paperback equally cheap. So when I did, I placed the order and ended up just going with the other things that were floating in my cart. They were good floaters this month. I’m glad I found this excuse to buy them. 🙂

FullSizeRender (6)

The problem with treating myself for good resisting of book buying is that it usually comes in the form of buying books as rewards. My Book Outlet purchase this month was a reward for only having two books to haul in March. :/ No regrets, though. I think these are all good choices!

Have you read any of these? Any recommendations for which ones I should read first?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

Leave a Reply

