Reader Confession Tag

I haven’t done many tags (so far only one other), but I found one I liked on @readingeverynight‘s page (I’ll link the tag post here), and I didn’t have a review to share today so even though I haven’t been tagged I’m going to answer these questions instead.

Have you ever damaged a book?

Not horribly. Up until the last few years I used to reread books all the time so I have several copies with some wear and tear, but I think they just look well-loved. So some of my books, especially my first Harry Potter copies, have cracked spines and covers peeling at the edges, but I’m not a dog-ear bookmarker and I’m generally careful with books.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Maybe? Once in middle school when Twilight was big I had borrowed a friend’s paperback copy for a reread and it slid off the top of my stack of textbooks between classes. It hit the floor on the base of the spine and got this weird little crack/buckle that ran horizontally across the spine about a third of the way up. It was tiny, like maybe 1/4 of an inch, but I remember it really vividly because she was standing right next to me at the time and was really upset about it. We were 13 and Twilight was a big deal. That’s the only incident I remember.

How long does it take you to read a book?

It really depends on what’s going on in my life and how long the book is. In the last few months, I’ve been averaging between 100-150 pages per day, so I’d say on average maybe about three days? I don’t force it. Some days I only read 10 pages, some days I read closer to 400; but usually about two books per week.

Are there books that you haven’t finished?

Unfortunately, yes. I never officially DNF a book, but I do start a book sometimes and then find myself busy with other things and not pick it back up for a long time. I never start a book I don’t intend to completely finish, even if I hate it. At the moment, I can only think of three books I’ve started but not finished before moving on to something else: The Death Cure by James Dashner, The Stand by Stephen King, and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (which is my classic of the month for March so this one will be off this list soon.)

Are there hyped/popular books you didn’t like?

Please don’t hate me. When I read the Lunar Chronicles, I gave most of the books 4 stars, but ever since completing them I can only remember the things I disliked about them, and I remember those things so strongly that it’s stopping me from picking up Marissa Meyer’s other book, Heartless. There were definitely good things about the series, but the writing style was most definitely not for me. I made it all the way through the series, but I don’t have any desire to own, reread, or really even think about these books again.

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

I don’t think so. When I was in middle school I read a few of the Pretty Little Liars novels and my mom ended up perusing one I was in the middle of; she thought the characters were so awful and mean that she forbid me to read them. I, of course, was not to be deterred and read four of them I think before I got tired of the series, so I had to keep that on the down low at the time. That seems kind of ridiculous now. Otherwise, people don’t generally ask what I’m reading in my regular life even though I bring a book with me everywhere I go, so it’s not really an issue.

How many books do you own?

I wasn’t going to count, but I was curious. I ended up with 535. Maybe. That’s how many I just counted, but it doesn’t account for all the children’s books that I own that are still on my younger brother’s shelf and it probably depends on what you’re counting as a book. I didn’t count the sudoku book I got for Christmas, but I did count my dictionary, and the two I’ve already paid for that haven’t actually arrived in the mail yet, so… somewhere around there, probably.

Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

I would say I’m somewhere in the middle. Some genres, like YA, romance, and thrillers I can read faster than, say, historical fiction and classics, but I don’t think I have any sort of unusual pace for any genre. If it seems like I’ve read a lot of books in a certain month, I probably just spent more time reading rather than having picked up my pace.

Do you like to buddy read?

I don’t know. I’ve never properly tried a buddy read. I definitely like talking about books I loved with friends who’ve also read them, but my friends read at different paces and have different reading priorities so sometimes one of us has to wait awhile for someone else to get around to a particular book. Schedules are so hard to figure out. I might be interested someday, but for now reading is a pretty solitary activity for me.

Do you read better in your head or out loud?

Both have their benefits. I read in my head most often, but I think reading out loud makes me slow down a little and notice things in different ways, so I like to practice both. I have a significantly younger brother who doesn’t like to read but likes to be read to, and he’s listened to lots of snippets from the middles of books I’m reading. He’s gotten old enough now that he notices when I try to skip over swear words or come up with replacements for words like “prostitution” that I don’t want to have to explain to him. He pays a surprising amount of attention even in the middle of the action and always seems to figure out what’s going on and ask weird questions about it. It is kind of fun to try to cover those things on the fly, but even if I’m just completely alone I’ll read out loud sometimes justfor the fun of it.

If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

This is so hard. I have a top 25 list because I can’t ever narrow down my favorites to a reasonable number. I might have to say I’d pick the bible, just because it’s so long and varied that if it was only book I could read for the rest of my life at least I would still have a range of stories and content. I don’t like to just reread the same thing over and over again, even if I love it. I’m afraid of overkill.

So that’s a little info about my reading life for anyone who’s curious–I know I love comparing my own book experiences with other people, which is why I enjoy tags like this. Feel free to tag me if you ever find something similar, I’m trying to get into tagging a little more! But for now, since I wasn’t specifically tagged for this one, I’m going to do the general tag here and say anyone who wants to answer these questions should do so and comment below so I can check it out! I’d enjoy comparing some of these answers. πŸ™‚

Would any of your responses be similar to mine?

Sincerely,

The Literary Elephant

3 thoughts on “Reader Confession Tag”

  1. Great answers for this tag, I have a load of books that have some wear and tear where I’ve read them so many times. I kind of think that’s a good thing to see in books because it shows they’re well loved and well read too. πŸ™‚
    Also wow, 535 is a lot of books and I’m actually in awe that you counted them all. I couldn’t really be bothered to do that with mine! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha thanks! I’m glad to find someone who shares my view on well-read copies of books. πŸ™‚ It seems I keep finding people these days who buy pristine copies and then are afraid to touch them! I understand that books are art, but I love my well-used copies.
      And yes, I even surprised myself by deciding to count after all. It was kind of fun to look back at all of my old reads and remind myself of the ones I still need to get to!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha, yeah, I have a few on my shelves but I think it just shows how they’re favourite books of mine. I also have a few that are pristine copies but I’ not afraid to touch them or anything like that.
        I imagine it must have been. I may have to do the same with my books one day. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

