July Book Haul + August TBR

I don’t fully understand why it’s so fun to see what books other people buy, but it is. It’s also interesting to see what other people are reading. One of the greatest benefits of book blogging is sharing what you buy and read with a community of other interested readers. I’ve been checking out lots of book hauls and TBRs (to-be-read lists) online this summer, and I finally decided to show one of my own. I probably won’t get into the habit of doing this every month, but July has been a good book-buying month and I have big plans for my August reading, so I’m giving it a go.

Let’s start with the book haul. I haven’t actually read any of these yet, but some are on my August TBR and a few more for September–I am planning to get around to most of them relatively soon. Here they are:

  1. Hidden Bodies, by Caroline Kepnes: This is the sequel to You. It’s probably the one I’m most excited about at the moment, too, because I was completely swept up in You and I’ve been trying to figure out the best way to get my hands on this one for months. I have not even read the synopsis of this book, I just knew that You was so great I had to buy the sequel.
  2. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov: This one’s a Russian classic. I like classics, and I do like the Russian literature I’ve read, and this is one I want to read during a summer while I’m still young. I have a ton of classics on my TBR, and I buy them occasionally with only vague plans to read them sometime in the future, but this one I want to get around to before the weather turns cold again, so I’m aiming for September.
  3. The Revenant by Michael Punke: Leonardo DiCaprio finally won his award for his role in this film. I didn’t see the movie in theaters, but I’m planning to watch it sometime soon, and I always aim to read the book before watching the movie. I love historical fiction, and I can picture Leo while I’m reading, so I think this will be a great end-of-summer read.
  4. Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen: This one’s sort of a nostalgia buy. I don’t read as much YA as I used to, but I loved Sara Dessen’s books back in my middle school days, and her newest book sounds like one I would’ve liked then, so I’m reading it now in memory of my thirteen year-old self. Well, maybe in September. I didn’t buy it immediately when it came out, because I’m not quite as enthused as I once was about contemporary YA, but I am still interested enough to try it.
  5. All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda: I was intrigued about this one when I first heard of it, because the story is told backwards, but I probably would’ve forgotten about it for the time being if I hadn’t randomly come across it at the bookstore. I did find it, though, and it seemed even better looking at it the second time, so I had to pick it up. Probably a September read.
  6. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson: I haven’t read any Robert Louis Stevenson yet and I feel like that’s been a mistake. I predict I’ll like his books a lot, so I’ve been picking up and putting back various copies of this one and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hide in bookstores for months. This one came on sale so I picked up a wonderful hardcover annotated copy with notes and diagrams and other cool stuff for about $5. Probably my best buy of the month.
  7. The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane: Another great bargain buy, this one a hardcover with a beautiful cover sheet, for $3. I heard about this book in one of my English classes at undergrad and I’m looking forward to finally getting around to it. It sounds creepy and powerful, and I love everything about the cover. Probably a September read.
  8. The Iliad and the Odyssey by Homer: I started reading a borrowed copy of The Iliad a few years ago and I enjoyed it, but was too busy to finish it at the time. Mythology is pretty interesting to me, so I’ll definitely want to read these someday, but I don’t anticipate delving into these in the real immediate future. Still, I’m glad to finally have them on my shelf, and I do want to read them.
  9. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling: This one I pre-ordered because I knew I couldn’t not have the eighth Harry Potter story. It’s just arrived yesterday, so I will be reading this one soon. So soon.
  10. What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty: I feel a little out of the loop for not having read any of Moriarty’s books yet, so I looked them all up and picked this one as the one I was most interested in reading first. I was just going to borrow it, but I found it cheap at the store and I couldn’t pass it up.
  11. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware: This one I came across just after finishing Ware’s first novel, In a Dark, Dark Wood. I loved that one and immediately snagged this one without knowing much about what it’s about, but I’m sure it’ll be great.

julybooks

And now my ambitious August TBR, consisting of…drumroll… 10 books. It doesn’t sound like so very many, but my goal for 2016 was to read a book per week, and my reading rate has fluctuated (I’m ahead of schedule at the moment; I thought I’d be farther ahead by now, but considering I read the entire Outlander series this year, which consists of 8 massive books, I don’t think I’m doing so badly), but 10 books is more than double my original goal. Here they are:

  1. After You by Jojo Moyes: This is the sequel to Me Before You, which you can find my review of here. I’ve heard that these read as a Part 1 / Part 2 sort of duo, rather than really separate works, so I’ve been wanting to get around to the second one while Me Before You is still fresh in my mind from last month. I’ve got it from the library now, and since book 1 was a quick read, I’m hoping that this one will be a good quick read to start off the month and also tie up a lose end.
  2. If There Be Thorns by V. C. Andrews: This is the third book in a(n oldish) modern gothic series I’ve been trying out. I’m planning to write one post about the entire series when I’m finished rather than one for each book, so it’ll be a little while before my review of this one, but I already have a lot of thoughts. It’s a unique and compelling genre.
  3. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling: This book I pre-ordered, and I won’t be able to wait to read it. Like many, I’ve been a Harry Potter fan for years, and it would have been impossible not to get my hands on this book as soon as possible. I have high hopes.
  4. Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes: I’ve been anxiously awaiting my chance to read this one since I finished You, which you can find my review of here. I absolutely loved You, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this sequel will not disappoint. I’ve had this book sitting temptingly on my bookshelf for almost a month now, and I finally am taking a break from borrowed books to jump in.
  5. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley: This one I’ve been mildly curious about for a few years, and I’m eager to finally give it a chance. I don’t know if I’m in the right mood for it now, so I might move it back to later in the month, but I’ve already checked out this cool old copy from the library, so whatever mood I’m in I will definitely be reading it sometime in the next three weeks.
  6. Station 11 by Emily St. John Mandel: This is one I’ve had my eye on for a while, and after a long debate about whether or not I wanted to buy it, I finally just decided to borrow it from the library. If I love it, I can buy it later, right? In any case, I’ve been planning to read it this summer, and summer is starting to run out, so it’s time. I’ve heard good things, and I’m looking forward to it.
  7. The Girls by Emma Cline: This one I borrowed from a friend, which normally would give it top priority in my TBR because I’m a timely book returner, but I have SO MANY books I want to read RIGHT NOW–library books, and books that I bought to read immediately, so even though I’m very interested in this book, it’ll probably be a couple of weeks before I get to it.
  8. With Malice by Eileen Cook: This has basically the same issue as The Girls. I borrowed it from the same friend, and I want to read it soon, but there are just so many books… This one had the lower recommendation of the two though, so it’s second. It was an impulse buy for my friend’s birthday; I usually don’t gift books I haven’t read or heard of, and she says it was good but not great, so I have to check it out and see if I could’ve made a better gift. Also I just like to mix a little YA into my reading list once in a while, and Harry Potter isn’t quite that, so this is my YA book for the month.
  9. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware: I was hoping to read something I’d bought in an older book haul, but then I picked this one up unexpectedly and I can’t possibly wait longer than 9 books into my reading future to get to this one.
  10. A mystery library book–I have a small list of books to look for on my next library trip, but I won’t list the possibilities here because I don’t know yet what will be available then or what I’ll be in the mood for, so I’m giving myself a little leeway. 10 seemed like a rounder number, and when I was scheduling how many days I could spend on each book, I had a few left at the end of the month that I didn’t want to go to waste.

So there they are. I didn’t include cover shots of them all because I usually show the covers in my reviews, which I’ll be trying to keep up with between my reading marathons this month. Even the books from my July book haul that I won’t be reading in August I plan to get to soon.I have no idea if this plan will actually work for me, but usually when I spell it all out that helps keep me motivated. I’ll inevitably tweak the rigid schedule I drew up, but I’m confident about getting through all 10 books. We shall see. Anyone else have an August TBR or interested in any of these books?

Let the games begin!

The Literary Elephant

2 thoughts on “July Book Haul + August TBR”

Leave a Reply

